Lin Elected to ACM SIGGRAPH Academy

Jun 09, 2020

Ming C. Lin, a Distinguished University Professor and the Elizabeth Stevinson Iribe Chair of Computer Science, has been elected to the 2020 class of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Graphics and Interactive Techniques (SIGGRAPH) Academy.

Lin was part of a select group of six scholars elected this year.

SIGGRAPH established the academy in 2018 to recognize individuals who have made substantial contributions to computer graphics and interactive techniques.

Criteria for election includes: cumulative contributions to the field; impact on the field through development of new research directions and/or innovations; and influence on the work of others.

Lin, who also has an appointment in the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies, was specifically recognized for her contributions to collision detection, physics simulation, natural phenomena, crowd animation, haptics, and sound rendering.

A noted educator and expert in virtual reality, computer graphics and robotics, Lin’s research focuses on multimodal interaction, physically based animations and simulations, as well as algorithmic robotics and their use in physical and virtual environments.

Her research has extensive applications in medical simulations, cancer screening, urban computing, as well as supporting city-scale planning, human-centric computing, intelligent transportation and traffic management.

Lin has authored or co-authored more than 300 refereed publications and has authored or co-edited four books.

She is a former editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (2011–2014) and has served on numerous steering committees and advisory boards of international conferences, as well as government and industrial technical advisory committees.

Lin also co-founded the 3D audio startup Impulsonic, which was acquired by Valve Software.

She earned her B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer sciences from the University of California, Berkeley.